Site Administrator Of:

Supporter Of:


2 provincial Liberal heavyweights come out in support of MMP

There has been some speculation that while officially neutral, the Ontario Liberal government was secretly hoping the electoral reform proposal would fail this October.

That may or may not be the case, but it was good to see 2 members of the Mcguinty Cabinet are now listed as supporters of the MMP proposals, and not some junior Cabinet Minister either:

The committee has already collected some big-name endorsements, including two members of cabinet, Health Minister George Smitherman and Attorney General Michael Bryant. (While the government is officially neutral, Premier Dalton McGuinty has given the green light to individual ministers to express their views). Among others endorsing MMP are former federal politicians Ed Broadbent and Monique Begin and Stompin’ Tom Connors.

Nothing against Stompin’ Tom, but when the Health Minister (and Smitherman is well known) and the province’s Attorney-General get on board the electoral reform bandwagon, those are significant endorsements.


3 comments to 2 provincial Liberal heavyweights come out in support of MMP

  • Partisan?  I'm merely pointing out that its very good to see 2 high profile Cabinet Ministers come out and endorse an electoral reform from a party some have hinted want this measure to fail. It gives credibility to the MMP reform proposal and in the voting electorate I feel when such high profile ministers from the government come out and show that's not the case.

    You're sure eager to paint me as a partisan Aaron at all times… but that's not the case here.

  • ALW

    You're in the partisan box again, Scotty.  Can you think of anyone who has said "gee, I wasn't in favour of MMP before, but since Michael Bryant and George Smitherman are, I am"?

    Yeah, didn't think so. 

    This referendum is going to fail or pass on its merits, not who endorses it.

  • Steve Withers

    Great to see these endorsements. Hopefully people will take note.

unique visitors since the change to this site domain on Nov 12, 2008.